Staff Profile: Sarah Linaman

Sara Linaman – “Experience Enhancer” (Cashier/Customer Service)

sarah snow

From: Reno, NV

How did you end up in Truckee and what do you love most about our community? I grew up in Reno so the Tahoe area has always been a part of my life. I was laid off from my job in Reno due to budget cuts in September and since my boyfriend lives in Truckee I decided to make the move to be closer to him and for a new adventure!

Why do you love coffee? I love how coffee has to endure such a long journey before it gets brewed into my cup…it goes through so many hands and processes which is amazing to me. I love the smell, the taste, and the way it brings people together! And how it helps provide me with a job.

What do you like most about your job at Cofffeebar? I love being a cashier at Coffeebar because I get to interact with the customers. I love teaching them about our products and recommending things that they never tried… they always love what I recommend which is a great feeling.

When I’m not at Coffeebar you can find me… Working at my other job (tutoring), catching up on sleep, skiing, doing yoga, cooking, painting my nails, and dancing at live music shows. If I’m in Reno on a Friday night, I’ll be Salsa Dancing.

What is your favorite city and why? This is a very hard question because there are lots of cities that I LOVE. I think my favorite is Granada, in southern Spain. It’s got so much interesting history and eclectic culture as it is right near the tip of Spain. There’s Spanish, Arabic, Moroccan, Turkish, African etc.. food and people!  It’s also where Flamenco guitar is played and the women dance the Flamenco which is so beautiful and inspiring to be around.

What was your favorite utensil when you applied? I chose the spatula because the word itself is so fun to say! Also I love it’s late-night grilled cheese flipping ability. And whenever it’s used for pancakes or French toast, you know it’s a special day.

If you walked in on your wife/husband with another man/woman what would you do? I’d join them! But would probably dump the guy afterwards.

What is your favorite coffee drink? Do I really have to choose just one?!!!

-Chocolate Cappuccino =special treat and probably my favorite at the moment

-Lemon Chiffon Latte =when I want something delicious without caffeine

-Latte with whole milk =when I want to sit and chat with a friend

-Toffeenut mocha= when I’m really feeling indulgent

-Jasmine green tea (Dragon Pearls)=when I’m in a Zen state of mind

-Cup of coffee with a little half and half= when I’m missing my Dad or when my siblings are visiting.

-English Breakfast tea with sugar and milk =I drink this at home a lot and ALWAYS when I’m with my mom as she’s from Australia (but her family originated in England…the tea tradition/addiction has stayed…)

What’s in your picnic basket? Red wine (or white in Summer time) cheddar cheese, hummus, crackers, grapes, kale chips, sparkling water, dark chocolate, wine opener(!!!), napkins, blanket.

What’s at the top of your travel bucket list? Machu Picchu in Peru!

What is one thing you are extremely proud of? My ability to be patient and kind to all people. Also I’m extremely proud of my little brother. He’s an amazing human being.

I’d really love to learn how to… Be a nurse! I’m applying to nursing schools. So, keep your fingers crossed!

If I had to choose between the following for a pet: Dragon,  Alligator,  Monkey,  Eagle, Rat I would pick: A dragon of course! I don’t like reptiles much, monkeys are stinky and belong in the jungle, Eagles are endangered I think so that’s just rude, and Rats are nasty!!

I couldn’t live without… Optimism, support from my family, friends, warm socks, tampons and good snow tires.

I’m really good at…. Giving advice to my girlfriends.

My idea of a perfect day is… Waking up refreshed, cup of tea in bed, ski on a blue-bird day OR do a killer yoga class (OR both), nap if needed, friends over for a luscious dinner, cooking and laughing together, a game of Charades or Dance Kinect on my bestfriend’s xbox to keep the laughter going. Then, end the night with a soak in the hot tub! If I had one…

From your perspective what makes Coffeebar special? There are lots of reasons! Coffeebar is special because it’s a fun, cool and welcoming gathering place for the community. It’s different than any other place, and it’s unique. Greg has done an amazing job building that for the community and I think that makes Truckee even more special. He’s not just the owner who cares only about profits-he wants it to be a place for the whole community. Cofeebar’s Coffee and Teas make Coffeebar very special as they’re the best! The specialty drink menu makes Coffeebar special too, AND they offer organic milk, almond, rice, soy, AND they have gluten-free options, AND they have delicious gelato!!  Oh, and the Serrano Jelly on the Milano Sandwich…YUM

Leave a Reply

